Soul Tapes

Just a few consecutive days of sunshine later and Rusty Ryan has already recorded a new summer selection, covered as promised by High-Rise. Soul Tapes is a forty minute mix of 90s hip hop, RnB, soul and disco blended by Doctor’s Orders Brighton resident Rusty Russ Ryan. Highlights include Indigo Jam Unit’s take on the Common & Dilla classic The Light, The Glow of Love by Change and a whole slew of dope records dug out of a crate at a car boot sale. Listen online or download below, and scroll down for a tracklist.

If you’re unfamiliar with the work of Rusty Ryan then be sure to check out the Love Is What We Need mix he put out a couple of years ago. Follow him on SoundCloud for more music and on Twitter for the latest.

1. Rising To The Top – Keni Burke
2. Two
3. Where Are We Going? – Marvin Gaye
4. It’s A Shame – Detroit Spinners
5. Five
6. Rock The Boat (acapella) – Aaliyah
7. It’s A Love Thing – Pete Rock
8. Sexual Healing – Marvin Gaye (Simon’s Dark Keys Mix)
9. Travelin’ Man – Mos Def
10. Whatever’s Fair – Jerry Butler
11. The Makings Of You – Curtis Mayfield
12. The Joy – Pete Rock & Jay Z
13. Can We Pretend – Bill Withers
14. Golden Lady – Stevie Wonder
15. Mystic Brew – Ronnie Foster
16. Electric Relaxation – A Tribe Called Quest
17. Open Your Eyes – Bobby Caldwell
18. The Light (instrumental) – Common
19. The Light – Indigo Jam Unit
20. We’re Almost There – MJ (Spinna Mix)
21. I’m In Love – Nancy Wilson
22. Be Thankful – Donovan Carless
23. Twenty Three
24. The Glow Of Love – Change
25. Rock Creek Park – Blackbyrds
26. Brazilian Rhyme (Interlude) – Earth, Wind & Fire


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s